Given the unfolding situation relating to COVID-19 in Australia and across the world, here at the City of Charles Sturt we want to be proactive and clear about how we can stay healthy and are making changes to the way we do things. We will continue to provide updates to the services and events that are impacted along with the latest information and recommendations from WHO, SA Health and the Government.

More information

Dismiss alert

Citizen awards and ceremonies

Citizenship Ceremonies

Becoming an Australian Citizen is a very special event. At the City of Charles Sturt, we hold conferral ceremonies for approved Australian Citizenship applicants living in the council area. If you are accepted as a Citizen of Australia, you will make a pledge and receive your Citizenship Certificate. 

We will continue to take direction from the State and Federal Government during the COVID-19 Pandemic and as such candidates will be contacted when they have been allocated to a future ceremony.

Learn more about what happens during Citizenship Ceremonies

Please direct any urgent requests for citizenship to the Department of Home Affairs on 131 880.

Calling for nominations for the 2021 Australia Day Awards

Do you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their contributions to our community? Someone whose work and commitments make our City a better place to live, work and play.  If so, now's the time to nominate them for a City of Charles Sturt Australia Day Award!

It may be an individual or community group who has gone above and beyond to support others, someone who works tirelessly to improve our City, an event that brings our community together or someone who's sporting, or volunteering achievements deserve to be celebrated.

Whether it be a friend, family member, neighbour, or workmate, please consider nominating them for an Australia Day Award.

Awards are given in the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year - recognises an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the community through their leadership and/or voluntary service.
  • Young Citizen of the Year - recognises exceptional young people under 30 years of age on 26 January 2021.
  • Senior Citizen of the Year - recognises those aged over 65 years on 26 January 2021, who continue to achieve and contribute.
  • Community Event/Group of the Year - recognises an organisation/group who presented an outstanding or beneficial community event/service during the year, which has provided opportunities for support, participation and/or attendance by the community face-to-face or online.

Submit a nomination by:

Nominations close 5pm Friday, 27 November 2020.

Need help?

Customer Contact
8408 1111