Housed in the former Fire Brigade building and Christian Chapel, the Museum displays much of the historical equipment, clothing and vehicles from the 1880's onwards belonging to the now-disbanded Hindmarsh Fire Brigade. The Museum also offers a fascinating insight into the history of the Hindmarsh area through an extensive display of objects, images and documents.
Both the Fire Station and the Chapel are listed on the State Heritage Register. A fully restored 1927 Chevrolet Fire Engine used by the Brigade is on display and used in historical parades from time to time, and is available for hire for special events and occasions. An original Wooden Hand Cart, circa 1890, used by the fire fighters is also displayed.
The Museum is owned and operated by the Hindmarsh Historical Society. The Society is a voluntary organisation that is committed to preserving memorabilia from the Hindmarsh area. New members are welcome. Donations are appreciated
Location: 2b Hindmarsh Place, Hindmarsh SA 5007
Phone: 08 8296 1265
Opening Times: Wednesdays 9am to 12pm, and the 1st and 3rd Sundays of each month from 2pm to 4pm. The Museum can also be open for groups at night by Special Arrangement and subject to available parking.
How to Get There: From the city travel down Port Road and cross the Torrens River bridge to turn left onto Adam Street. Take the first turn on the right at the traffic lights to Manton Street. Then turn at the second street on the left (Hindmarsh Place) and the Museum is next to the Hindmarsh Soccer stadium main gates.
Postal Address: PO Box 22, Hindmarsh SA 5007