City of Charles Sturt 1.

Register of Allowances and Benefits

Adopted: November 2018

Updated: July 2022



City of Charles Sturt 2.

November 2019 to November 2020	Annual Allowance		
Mayor A Evans	\$96,872.00		
Councillor T Scheffler	\$30,272.50		
(Deputy Mayor)			
Councillor P Alexandrides	\$30,272.50		
(Presiding Member – City Services Committee)			
Councillor O Nguyen	\$30,272.50		
(Presiding Member – Audit Committee)			
Councillor A Campbell	\$30,272.50		
(Presiding Member Corporate Service Committee)			
Councillor K Thomas	\$30,272.50		
(Presiding Member – Asset Management Committee)			
Councillor E Agius	\$24,218.00		
Councillor S Ghent	\$24,218.00		
Councillor G Ferrao	\$24,218.00		
Councillor H Hibeljic	\$24,218.00		
Councillor S McGrath	\$24,218.00		
Councillor M Mitchell	\$24,218.00		
Councillor P Sykes	\$24,218.00		
Councillor G Turelli	\$24,218.00		
Councillor K van den Nieuwelaar	\$24,218.00		
Councillor T Wasylenko	\$24,218.00		
Councillor C Watson	\$24,218.00		

November 2020 to November 2021	Annual Allowance		
Mayor A Evans	\$97,884.00		
Councillor T Scheffler	\$30,588.75		
(Deputy Mayor)			
Councillor P Alexandrides	\$30,588.75		
(Presiding Member – City Services Committee)			
Councillor H Hibeljic	\$30,588.75		
(Presiding Member – Audit Committee)			
Councillor A Campbell	\$30,588.75		
(Presiding Member Corporate Service Committee)			
Councillor K Thomas	\$30,588.75		
(Presiding Member – Asset Management Committee)			
Councillor E Agius	\$24,471.00		
Councillor S Ghent	\$24,471.00		
Councillor G Ferrao	\$24,471.00		
Councillor S McGrath	\$24,471.00		
Councillor O Nguyen	\$24,471.00		
Councillor M Mitchell	\$24,471.00		
Councillor P Sykes	\$24,471.00		
Councillor G Turelli	\$24,471.00		
Councillor K van den Nieuwelaar	\$24,471.00		
Councillor T Wasylenko	\$24,471.00		
Councillor C Watson	\$24,471.00		

City of Charles Sturt 3.

November 2021 to November 2022	Annual Allowance		
Mayor A Evans	\$100,332.00		
Councillor T Scheffler	\$31,353.75		
(Deputy Mayor)			
Councillor P Alexandrides	\$31,353.75		
(Presiding Member – City Services Committee)			
Councillor H Hibeljic	\$31,353.75		
(Presiding Member – Audit Committee)			
Councillor A Campbell	\$31,353.75		
(Presiding Member Corporate Service Committee)			
Councillor K Thomas	\$31,353.75		
(Presiding Member – Asset Management Committee)			
Councillor E Agius	\$25,083.00		
Councillor S Ghent	\$25,083.00		
Councillor G Ferrao	\$25,083.00		
Councillor S McGrath	\$25,083.00		
Councillor O Nguyen	\$25,083.00		
Councillor M Mitchell	\$25,083.00		
Councillor P Sykes	\$25,083.00		
Councillor G Turelli	\$25,083.00		
Councillor K van den Nieuwelaar	\$25,083.00		
Councillor T Wasylenko	\$25,083.00		
Councillor C Watson	\$25,083.00		

City of Charles Sturt 4.

Preamble

Section 76 of the Local Government Act 1999, provides that each member of a Council is entitled to receive an annual allowance from the Council for performing and discharging official functions and duties.

Council Members' annual allowances are determined by the Independent Remuneration Tribunal, pursuant to Section 76 of the Act to help cover the cost of performing and discharging their official functions and duties. Section 77 of the Act provides that a member of a Council is also entitled to receive from the Council:

- (a) reimbursement of prescribed expenses (refer Local Government (Members Allowances and Benefits) Regulations 2010); and
- (b) reimbursement of specified expenses approved by the Council (either specifically or under an appropriate Policy adopted by the Council).

Section 79 of the Act requires the Chief Executive Officer of a Council to ensure that a record (the "Register of Allowances and Benefits") is kept in which is entered, in respect of each member of Council;

- (a) the annual allowance payable to the member; and
- (b) details of any expenses reimbursed by the Council under Section 77(1)(b) (refer Elected Members' Allowances and Support Policy); and
- (c) details of other benefits paid or payable to, or provided for the benefit of the member by the Council (refer Elected Members' Allowances and Support Policy).

This document is the "Register of Allowances and Benefits" for the Elected Members of the Council of the City of Charles Sturt.

Notes

(1) Council Members' allowances are determined by the Independent Remuneration Tribunal and the nominated allowances came into effect post the November 2018 Local Government Elections.

In accordance with the Local Government Act 1999 Section 76(9) Allowance & Benefits the allowance is to be adjusted on the first, second and third anniversaries of the relevant periodic elections to reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index under a scheme prescribed by the regulations.

'For the purposes of section 76(9) of the Act, an allowance is to be adjusted by multiplying the allowance by a proportion obtained by dividing the Consumer Price Index for the September quarter last occurring before the date on which the allowance is to be adjusted by the Consumer Price Index for the September quarter immediately before the date on which the allowance was determined under section 76 of the Act (with the amount so adjusted being rounded up to the nearest dollar).'

City of Charles Sturt

Register of Council Members Reimbursements and Benefits – from 1 April 2022 to 30 June 2022

5.

Council Member	General Reimbursements	Printing and Stationery	Catering	Advertising and Promotional	Corporate Training	Seminars and Conferences	Communication	Travel and Accommodation	Grand Total
1024400 – Elected Member Support			1,300.18						1,300.18
1024403 - Cr Tom Scheffler		37.08				610.00	390.00		1,037.08
1024404 - Cr Tolley Wasylenko		117.12					390.00		507.12
1024405 - Cr Stuart Ghent		277.18					390.00	295.20	962.38
1024418 - Cr Edgar Agius						540.11	390.00		930.11
1024422 - Cr Paul Sykes							390.00		390.00
1024423 - Mayor Angela Evans		188.39					240.16	11.82	440.37
1024431 - Cr Oanh Nguyen		87.25					390.00	50.69	527.94
1024434 - Cr Paul Alexandrides		25.57					390.00		415.57
1024438 - Cr George Turelli		138.34					390.00	160.56	688.90
1024439 - Cr Kelly Thomas							390.00		390.00
1024441 - Cr Alice Campbell							390.00		390.00
1024442 – Cr Gerard Ferrao				107.66		- 553.61	390.00		-55.95
1024443 – Cr Charlotte Watson		11.67					390.00		401.67
1024444 – Cr Sarah McGrath		10.78					390.00		400.78
1024445 – Cr Kenzie van den Nieuwelaar		15.95					390.00	48.01	453.96
1024446 – Cr Helen Hibeljic							390.00		390.00
1024447 – Cr Matt Mitchell							390.00		390.00
Grand Total		909.33	1,300.18	107.66		596.50	6,480.16	566.28	9,960.11

Notes:

- Information Technology hardware and meals provided to Council Members prior to Council and Committee meetings are not included in this Register.
- All amounts quoted are rounded to the nearest dollar.
- All amounts are allocated based on the date the expense was processed by Council.
- * Allowances paid in accordance with the Elected Members' Allowances & Support Policy (click to view policy). Reimbursement period is November to November each year.
- Gifts/Benefits from 1 September 2013 have been documented on a separate register.