Chat live with us

Services

Services

Public Holiday Information

Rubbish Bins for your waste collection

Waste Collection

Christmas Week commencing 24/12/2018
Kerbside collection on Christmas Day will be deferred until the 26/12/2018 and each subsequent day concluding with final pick up on Saturday 29/12/2018.

New Years Week commencing 31/12/2018
Kerbside collection on New Years Day will be deferred until the 2/1/2019 and each subsequent day concluding with final pick up on Saturday 5/1/2019.

Hard waste will only be collected on normal working days.

The City of Charles Sturt Civic Centre, Libraries, Community Centres and Waste Management Centre are closed on all Public Holidays and during the Easter weekend. 

Below are the dates for Public Holidays. We will also post closing and opening times during the Easter holidays and Christmas/New Year holidays. Please check back here closer to these times for further information.

Please note: Our after hours emergency service will be available at all times - please call 8408 1111.

Closure Times for Christmas/New Year Holidays

Civic Cente

Council Offices close at 3pm on Monday 24 December, reopening on Wednesday 2 January 2019.  Skeleton staff will be taking calls at our Contact Centre. 

Our after hours emergency service will be available at all times - please call 8408 1111.

Waste Collection

Christmas Week commencing 24/12/2018
Kerbside collection on Christmas Day will be deferred until the 26/12/2018 and each subsequent day concluding with final pick up on Saturday 29/12/2018.

New Years Week commencing 31/12/2018
Kerbside collection on New Years Day will be deferred until the 2/1/2019 and each subsequent day concluding with final pick up on Saturday 5/1/2019.

Hard waste will only be collected on normal working days.

All Libraries

Monday 24 December – Normal operating hours across all branches
Tuesday 25 DecemberAll branches closed
Wednesday 26 DecemberAll branches closed
Thursday 27 December – Civic, West Lakes & Findon open normal hours; Henley & Hindmarsh closed
Friday 28 December -  Civic, West Lakes & Findon open normal hours; Henley & Hindmarsh closed
Saturday 29 December - Civic, West Lakes & Findon open normal hours; Henley & Hindmarsh closed
Sunday 30 December - Civic, West Lakes & Findon open normal hours; Henley & Hindmarsh closed
Monday 31 December - Civic, West Lakes & Findon open normal hours; Henley & Hindmarsh closed
Tuesday 1 JanuaryAll branches closed
Wednesday 2 JanuaryAll branches return to normal hours

Community Centres

19 on Green Community Centre:  Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
Bower Cottages Community Centre: Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
Cheltenham Community Centres: Will close at 5pm on Friday 21 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
Findon Community Centre: Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
Henley & Grange Community Centre: Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
Seaton North Community Centre: Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
West Lakes Community Centre: Will close at 5pm on Friday 14 December and reopen on Monday 14 January 2019.
The Brocas: Will close at 5pm on Thursday 20 December and reopen on Monday 7 January 2019.

City of Charles Sturt Waste Management Centre

Only closed public holidays - Tuesday 25 December, Wednesday 26 December and Tuesday 1 January.

 

Public Holidays

Holiday & Date 2017 2018 2019
New Year's Day
1 January (unless it falls on a weekend)
Monday
2 January
Monday
1 January
Tuesday
1 January
Australia Day
26 January
Thursday
26 January
Friday
26 January
Monday
28 January
March public holiday Monday
13 March
Monday
12 March
Monday
11 March
Good Friday Friday
14 April
Friday
30 March
Friday
19 April
the day after Good Friday
(commonly called Easter Saturday)
Saturday
15 April
Saturday
31 March
Saturday
20 April
Easter Monday Monday
17 April
Monday
2 April
Monday
22 April
Anzac Day
25 April
Tuesday
25 April
Wednesday
25 April
Thursday
25 April
Queen's Birthday
second Monday in June
Monday
12 June
Monday
11 June
Monday
10 June
Labour Day
first Monday in October
Monday
2 October
Monday
1 October
Monday
7 October
Christmas Day
25 December
Monday
25 December
Tuesday
25 December
Wednesday
25 December
Proclamation Day
26 December
Tuesday
26 December
Wednesday
26 December
Thursday
26 December

School Holidays and Term Dates

Period Start Finish Length
Term 1 Monday 30 January, 2017 Thursday 13 April, 2017 11 Weeks
School Holidays Friday 14 April, 2017 Sunday 30 April, 2017  
Term 2 Monday 1 May, 2017 Friday 7 July, 2017 10 Weeks
School Holidays Saturday 8 July, 2017 Sunday 23 July, 2017  
Term 3 Monday 24 July, 2017 Friday 29 September, 2017 10 Weeks
School Holidays Saturday 30 September, 2017 Sunday 15 October, 2017  
Term 4 Monday 16 October, 2017 Friday 15 December, 2017 9 Weeks
School Holidays Saturday 16 December, 2017 Sunday 28 January, 2018  
Provide feedback for this page